The ACSO Awards program recognizes remarkable individual and organizations for their meaningful contributions to the orchestra field. These awards are presented at our Annual Conference to honor recipients in the presence of friends and colleagues and to encourage excellence in the entire orchestra community.

Kris Sinclair Leadership Award

The Kris Sinclair Leadership Award is given to an ACSO Organizational Member that demonstrates impactful leadership initiatives which advance the goals of their organization. This award is made possible by the Kris Sinclair Fund for Professional Development that consists of contributions intentionally made in Kris Sinclair’s name to support professional development and technical assistance offered by ACSO. Sinclair was the Executive Director of the Association for 31 years and provided members with technical assistance, professional development opportunities, and consultation on a variety of orchestra management topics.

2017 Winner

The inaugural Kris Sinclair Leadership Award was presented to the Community Women's Orchestra.  

MVP Awards

Initiated in 1996, the Most Valuable Player Awards were created to recognize exemplary volunteers, volunteer projects, and volunteer organizations working for California’s symphony orchestras.

2017 Winners

  • Mary Jane Cooper, Santa Barbara Symphony
  • Pat and Sandy Gage, Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra
  • Pat Hager, Mill Valley Philharmonic
  • David Hamilton, San Luis Obispo Symphony
  • Ronda Latham, Orange County Youth Symphony Orchestra
  • Becky Novy, Los Angeles Philharmonic Affiliates
  • Joseph Svehla, Pacific Symphony
  • Judith Valles, San Bernardino Symphony Orchestra